Published On: Tue, Oct 16th, 2018

15 MPs to boycott SLFP Central Committee meeting

The Central Committee of Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), chaired by the party leader President Maithripala Sirisena, is scheduled to convene this afternoon (16).

All of the committee members of the SLFP have been informed in this regard, stated the SLFP General Secretary Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa.

The meeting will focus on restructuring the party and the current political situation of the country.

However, the group of 15 SLFP parliamentarians, who recently broke away from the government, has decided not to participate in the Central Committee meeting.

UPFA MP Dilan Perera stated that their group will not attend the Central Committee meeting until the SLFP withdraws from the government.

However, SLFP General Secretary Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa mentioned that the party has not received such a request yet.

SLPP Chairman Prof. G.L. Peiris stated that no discussion will be held with regard to the formation of a new government until SLFP withdraws from the government.

Meanwhile, UNP Parliamentarian Chaminda Wijesiri says that the UNP is prepared to form a new government on its own, at any moment.

Leave a Reply