Published On: Sat, Oct 7th, 2017

Fifth Derana Sunsilk Film Awards 2017 – Winners

Renowned Sri Lankan filmmaker Asoka Handagama won the award for Best Picture at the Fifth Derana Sunsilk Film Awards – 2017, which was held last night at the Nelum Pokuna (Lotus Pond) Theatre in Colombo.

He also took home the award for Best Screenplay for his movie “Let Her Cry (Ege Esa Aga)”. Sameera Rangana Naotunna won the award for Best Director for his debut film “Motor Bicycle.”

Dasun Pathirana was adjudged Best Actor while veteran actress Swarna Mallawarachchi was named Best Actress.


Best Actor / Actress in a Negative Role – Pubudu Chaturanga
Best Actor / Actress in a Comedy Role – Sarath Kothalawala
Best Upcoming Actress – Rithika Kodithuwakku
Best Actor in Supporting Role – Gayan Wickramathilaka
Best Actress in Supporting Role – Aruni Rajapaksha
Cinema of Tomorrow – Malaka Dewapriya
Special Jury Award – Samanalee Fonseka
Best Actress – Swarna Mallawarachchi
Best Actor – Dasun Pathirana
Sunsilk Shine Award – Udari Warnakulasuriya

Blockbuster Movie of the Year –

1st Place – Paththini
2nd Place – Maya
3rd Place – Sarigama

Most Popular Song – Ahasin Eha ( Adaraneeya Kathawak )
Most Popular Actress – Puja Umashankar
Most Popular Actor – Ranjan Ramanayaka
Best Screenplay – Ashoka Handagama
Best Director – Sameera Rangana Naotunna – Motor Bicycle
Best Picture – Ashoka Handagama – Let Her Cry (Ege Esa Aga)

– Courtesy – Ada Derana

Leave a Reply