Published On: Mon, Jul 3rd, 2017

Uma Oya blight: cabinet ad hoc committee to conduct field inspection

The ministerial ad hoc committee appointed to address issues pertaining to the Uma Oya Multi-purpose Development Project is scheduled to conduct a field inspection today (03).

The ad hoc committee comprised of cabinet ministers was elected by President Maithripala Sirisena in order to investigate the potential sinking in of the Bandarawela town, as well as the water shortages caused by the project’s implementation.

Ministers Mahinda Amaraweera, Patali Champika Ranawaka and Vijith Vijayamuni Zoysa were elected by the President to constitute the ministerial committee.

The committee is expected to extensively address the environmental damage caused by the project as well as a potential operation to provide relief to victims.

The committee will also be assessing the continuation of the project, after taking into consideration expert opinions provided by foreign specialists.

However, the people’s organization against the Uma Oya Multi-destructive Development Project stated during a media briefing yesterday (02) that they had absolutely no faith in cabinet ad hoc committee.

Accordingly, they declared that a presidential commission must also be elected to effectively solve the prevalent issue.

Leave a Reply