Published On: Fri, Jul 1st, 2016

Term of Office of 23 Local Government Bodies including the CMC Will Not Be Extended

colombo_municipal_councilThe Government has decided not to extend the term of office of the remaining 23 local government bodies which was due to end from mid night yesterday.

This decision was taken during a special discussion which was held under the patronage of President Maitripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe last afternoon.

Accordingly the relevant 23 local government bodies are dissolved with effect from mid-night yesterday.

Accordingly among the 23 local government bodies ending their term of office with effect from mid-night yesterday are 17 municipal councils, one urban council, and five divisional councils.

Although the term of office of the 23 local government bodies was due to end on 31st October  last year it was extended by the President twice up to today.

Leave a Reply